Jumping on the bandwagon or something.

17392720_10211193356763550_1847675733_n

(unflattering picture of me being greeted by my dogs after not seeing them for a week ft. hospital band.)

I’m coming right off the back of my first (and hopefully last) stay in a mental health ward, which means I’ve decided to start trying a little harder when it comes to taking care of my mental health. Some of the first things I was told by my therapist was that writing my feelings and experiences down, and being more open with people about what is happening in my life would both be good for me.

So here we are with a blog, open for anyone to read. Which is daunting to be completely honest, so please be gentle with me while I figure out how much I want to share, how I want to share it and how to actually use wordpress.

I’m not going to go in to detail about the people I met in the ward because it’s not my job to share their business, but I will say that I met some of the most interesting, lovely people and I gained an appreciation for the many good things in my life. I had visits everyday from Sophia, and even though I tried to keep my admission a secret I had visits from my aunty, nana, and mum. The friends that knew where I was and couldn’t visit let me know how much they care about me, and I never felt alone the whole week I was away.

I’m not going to lie, one of the roughest parts of the week was when my family found out (I didn’t want to worry anyone basically), but we all survived and it was okay in the end. Actually more than okay because I got maccas out of it. But really, I learnt that my mental illness isn’t as scary as I think it is, my family can handle knowing about what’s happening, and I don’t always have to bear this load on my own.

The main thing I learnt over my week (six nights, and seven days. But who was counting?) was that hospital food sucks so bad, and that in itself is a good reason to never go back.

7 thoughts on “Jumping on the bandwagon or something.

  1. I am so pleased you are going to do this and I know you will always take action to help yourself you are a priceless gem to your Nana (me myself I ) and things always go better out in the light. Am proud of you Love you.

    Like

  2. Honest and inspiring. Your braver than most people I know… keep looking forward, life is good when we look after ourselves and our own 😘

    Like

  3. Thank you for sharing this Acacia. One of the hardest things in life is to allow ourselves to be vulnerable, ironically that is the one thing that allows us to really connect with people. Please remember that self-care is not a form of selfishness! ❤️🌺

    Like

Leave a Reply

